Keep Your Secrets to Yourself, Shallow One.

I really hate it when PostSecret–wait, strike that, I really hate PostSecret. (Yet I can’t stop reading it.) For every actual secret (the interesting ones that might help me learn something uplifting about human nature), there are thirty mere brags, five or six obvious lies, a dozen postcards that only provide evidence that human beings are stupid vicious creatures, and at least one noisome adoption-related piece of *trollstank:

I saw this last Sunday and I still don’t have words for how I feel about it.

It's not like they're people or anything. Can I have two?

I want that thing that chick on TV got.

(I lied, I got some words right here. But you knew that.)

I don’t watch much TV, so I had to consult Google to see who these characters are. Here’s their heartwarming adoption story from Grey’s Anatomy, according to Wikipedia:

When the Chief’s wife, Adele, is diagnosed with Alzheimer’s, she receives a spot on Derek’s trial. Meredith tampers with the drugs so that Adele does not receive the placebo. She and Derek decide to adopt Zola, an orphaned baby from Africa, and make their marriage official. When the truth about Meredith’s tampering comes out, however, a furious Derek tells her he cannot raise a child with her. Meredith is fired, and tries to conceal both this and her separation from Derek from the adoption counselor. Although Richard steps down as Chief of Surgery and takes the blame for the trial tampering to protect Meredith, Zola is taken away. She and Derek reconcile and fight to get Zola back, but fear the worst when the judge cancels their hearing. Meredith tells Derek that she does not want another child, just Zola. They are both delighted when the adoption counselor unexpectedly returns Zola to them.

WHAT.

So this person is saying that adoption from Africa by an unemployed, unethical imaginary doctor who  lies to adoption agencies and is rewarded for it is what made her/him want to adopt.

Well. Given the state of adoption in the US, where babies are returnable dolls you can buy in any color from all over the world–given that we take orders from the media on how to look and act and be–and given that we believe having one black acquaintance can make you 100% not-racist forever–this shit makes perfect sense.

(I’d be angrier if I weren’t pretty sure the poster has done nothing to pursue adoption but make the postcard, mail it in, and feel all warm and glowy about it.)

*I watched TrollHunter recently and it gave me a new Bad Word. Recommended!

5 Comments

Filed under AdoptoLand, Colonialism ROCKS!, Sad and beautiful, Those Wacky PAPs

5 responses to “Keep Your Secrets to Yourself, Shallow One.

    • I don’t know, I ask myself that question often, although I usually season it with fuck, what the fuck is wrong with people.

      Oh and they think they are saints. I know one adoptoraptor who srsly swear to GOD blocked me from her blog with a MOTHER THERESA poem, as in she is MT, oh my God, I should really pay her for making me lol so hard. My adoptee friend saw that and said, “they are all the same aren’t they?” which no , but you know.

  1. I know! That is what I said, she is a demagogue and an obscurantist, well someone else said that in the 90s and she is a mobster, someone else said that too, in their song Radio Gods or something? but I have been repeating that for almost 20 years and of course, I mean that is how she sees herself, a saint and a victim of adoptees. Oh God, will not be bitchy today, will not oh just a little.

    I hadn’t seen this vid. will check it out further, thanks.

Leave a Reply

