A Challenge From The Adopted Ones blog

Challenge

I was gonna wait until I had done all the “whether or not” things so I could type a triumphant “I teach six college courses and I still did all this, so you can too!” post, but I’m running out of November here. I haven’t done all those things, but I’ve done the main thing, so I challenge my readers anyway:

–To publicly stand up and state your feelings in a post on your blog this month about Adoptee Rights and to challenge your readers to do the same and then talk about it and don’t stop talking about it.

I did this part, so YOU! Yes, you! Behind the bikesheds! If you’re not blogging already, then Pikachu, I challenge YOU!

Whether or not (and feel free to add why)…

1.  you support Adult Adoptees right to their original birth certificate.
(yes duh)

2.  you support retroactively restoring this right to all Adult Adoptees.
(hellz yes)

3.  you have written a letter to the National Counsel For Adoption stating your support for Adoptee Rights activism and urging them to change their position.
(Er, I should definitely do that.)

4.  you have told your state representatives you support Adoptee Rights.
(I hope I never claimed to be an activist, cause I suck at the active part.)

5.  you are aware of any current pending legislation that will restore the right to Adult Adoptees to their Original Birth Certificate in YOUR state.
(Now that’s just plain depressing. Who in NC would I–oh!)

Adoptee Rights Coalition November post with a link to your representative.

Thanks!

So how about you, Bastard Readers? How many challenge components have you completed? And I don’t wanna hear any complaints–you have two whole days. 😉

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A Challenge From The Adopted Ones blog

  1. Lauri Lee

    Maybe you could add signing this petition to the list as well.
    http://www.change.org/petitions/citizenship-for-all-us-intercountry-adoptees

    The petition is for CITIZENSHIP FOR ALL US INTERCOUNTRY ADOPTEES. Even though the Child Citizenship Act of 2000 allows for all adoptees under the age of 18 to be granted citizenship automatically, there is an older generation of adoptees whose parents didn’t secure them citizenship during their childhoods and many of these children did not realise they were not US citizens. Some have been deported for things as innocuous as crossing a border into Mexico or Canada (or going to Hawaii which isn’t even a different country!) and finding out they cannot come home.

    I was adopted to the US as an infant and then my a-parents moved countries the next year. They did not know if this was going to be a permanent move so my citizenship was put in limbo until I was in my mid-teens. I was effectively stateless because the Korean government was reluctant to issue me a full passport (adoptees are given short term passports which are designed to facilitate travel from Korea but with the intent not to return so we are obviously not considered proper citizens). Every time I travelled I had to apply for another temporary passport. My a-parents felt that I should be granted US citizenship to match theirs and this is what my a-mother kept applying for; it would have made travelling as a family group easier especially to the US to visit relatives (one time we were stopped in Hawaii because the authorities suspected my a-parents of stealing a Hawaiian child). I feel fortunate that my a-parents finally did secure me citizenship in the country that we did live in, otherwise I would have remained stateless until the task was landed on me as an adult to sort it out, which is assuming that I both could, and would have.

    It was certainly not hard to become stateless as an adoptee to the US, and I’m glad the law has changed for the younger generation of adoptees but this remains so unfair for the older generation who never received US citizenship, even as adults, and remain stateless. I am fortunate not to be one of them, but I know how easily I could have been.

  2. Support 1&2 without question because you are my fellow adoptees.The others are more difficult for non-Americans and petitions often will not accept my postcode.

  3. cb

    Von, I signed that above petition so it should accept you as I’m a fellow Aussie.

  4. Lauri Lee

    I believe a little foreign pressure on the US regarding its humanitarian policies is a good thing! ^^ Especially given how righteous, interfering and aggressive the US is in its foreign policies, it could take a mild (non-invasive) dose of its own medicine in the form of non-threatening signatures.

    I’m a foreigner (admittedly a technicality as a result of the old law regarding adoptee citizenship) but felt very entitled to signed the petition, as did some of my friends and family not in the US. They are interested parties.

Leave a Reply

