The Starfish Story Retold

You know the one, O My Bastards: Loren Eisley’s The Star Thrower, aka That Starfish Story International A’Parents Put On Their Blogs. I’m retelling it to fit:

The Spiky Urchin Thrower

  One day a man was walking along a beach when he noticed a boy pick something up and drop it in a bucket of water. Approaching the boy, he asked, “What are you doing?”

The youth replied, “Saving the spiky urchins. 
The surf is up and the tide is going out.  If I don’t put them in nice clean water, they’ll die.”

“Son,” the man said, “that animal can’t get used to a bucket, and I bet you don’t know what to feed it. Don’t you think it would be better to put it back in the ocean where it belongs?”

The boy bent down, picked up another urchin, and dropped it into his bucket of fresh, chlorinated tap water. “It belongs here. Everything needs nice clean water.” Then, smiling at the man, he said, “I’ll honor its ocean in my home daily and take it to sea camp.”

NOW it’s about international adoption.

5 Comments

Filed under Stop Saying That

5 responses to “The Starfish Story Retold

  1. Sadly spot on. I bet those parents wouldn’t see themselves in the story, would they? Selfish people.

    You have the most exquisite way of looking at things.

  2. Thanks, Kara! I blame adoption. (-: Seriously. It’s given me a pretty cockeyed view of things, also the crazy notion that I see straight and the people around me are cockeyed.

  3. ElaineP

    Once again, you nailed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

